Juliana Cherera resigns from IEBC, writes to President Ruto

Cherera wrote to President William Ruto notifying him of her resignation from the electoral body.

The four IEBC commissioners suspended by President William Ruto

Juliana Cherera, the vice chair of the IEBC, has resigned from her position at the commission.

Cherera wrote to President William Ruto notifying him of her resignation from the electoral body.

It is with immense woe that today I tender my resignation as commissioner and vice chairperson of Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission," reads the letter .

Cherera stated that in her tenure as the commissioner she dispensed her duties diligently, meticulously and put a spirited effort in helping the commission deal with corporate governance issues under very difficult circumstances.

"As vice chairperson, I always advocated for fair treatment and equal opportunity for all staff," she said.

However, the former VC noted that her cumulative actions done in good faith were unfortunately misjudged and misinterpreted.

After careful consideration of the current events at the commission and with consultation with her family and lawyers, Cherera highlighted that she accepted her stay at the commission was no longer tenable and therefore chose to resign.

"I sincerely thank His excellency William Samoei Ruto, President of Kenya for the opportunity accorded to me to serve the republic, God bless," she said.

Her resignation comes two days after IEBC commissioner Justice Nyang'aya resigned from his position on Friday.

β€œIt is with a heavy heart that I tender my resignation as a commissioner of the IEBC effective today (Friday),” Nyang'aya said in a letter to President William Ruto.

Nyanga'aya and three other commissioners are accused of attempting to subvert the will of the people with regard to the August 9 presidential elections

The two others are Commissioners Irene Masit and Francis Wanderi.

The four disowned results that were announced by IEBC Chair Wafula Chebukati.

Ruto had appointed a nine-member tribunal to probe the suspended commissioners, chaired by Court of Appeal Judge Aggrey Muchelule.

Other members of the team include Carolyne Kamende Daudi, Mathew Njaramba Nyabena and Col. (Retired) Saeed Khamis, Kibet Kirui Emmanuel, and Irene Tunta Nchoe as joint secretaries.

Read Also;