MTV MAMA’s Awards Winners 2015

The MTV MAMA’s awards went down on Saturday night in Durban South Africa. The event saa the best selection of African artists celebrated in different awards for the different arts they do.

The annual event was hosted by Anthony Andesrson and saw performances from Neyo, Jhene Aiko, Kenya’s own Sauti Sol, Nigeria had Davido , Yemi, Burna boy, Patorankin  among others.

Here is a list of the winners:

Best New Act Transformed by Absolut: Patoranking (Nigeria)

Best Hip Hop:   Cassper Nyovest (S.A)

Personality of the Year:   Trevor Noah (S.A)

MAMA Evolution: D’Banj (Ng)

Best International: Nicki Minaj

Best Collaboration: “Nafukwa”– Riky Rick; Director: Adriaan Louw

Best Pop & Alternative: Jeremy Loops (S.A)

Best Female: Yemi Alade (Nigeria)

Best Male: Davido (Nigeria)

Best Group: P-Square (Nigeria)

Best Francophone: DJ Arafat (Ivory Coast)

Best Lusophone: Ary (Angola)

Artist of the Decade: P-Square

 MTV Base Leadership Award:   Saran Kaba Jones & S’Bu Mavundla

MTV MAMA’s Set For July

This year’s edition of MTV Africa Music Awards is back. It will be hosted at the Durban International Convention Centre, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa on July 18.

The annual celebration of African talent takes ‘evolution’ as its theme, recognising and rewarding musicians and achievers who have made the most impact on African youth culture over the last 12 months, while also celebrating the development of the continent’s talent and creativity over the last 10 years.

The ceremony will feature stunning performances from African and international artists along with unique collaborations.

MAMA 2015 will celebrate African talent across 17 award categories such as Best Male, Best Female, Best Song and Best New Act Transformed by Absolut. The contribution of artists from Portuguese and French-speaking Africa will also be recognised in the Best Lusophone and Best Francophone categories.

In line with the ‘evolution’ theme, this year’s show will also feature a special edition Artist of the Decade category.

Past winners of the award from Kenya are Amani, Wahu, Nameless and Daddy Owen.

– The Star