nobel literature

Ngugi wa Thiong’o misses out on Nobel Prize for Literature

Patrick Modiano from France is the winner of the 2014 Nobel Prize for Literature.

Patrick Modiano – Nobel Prize for Literature winner 2014

Modiano beat a strong list of writers to the prize including Kenya’s Ngugi wa Thiong’o who had been billed as favorite to win it.

The Nobel Academy described the novelist, whose work has often focused on the Nazi occupation of France, as “a Marcel Proust of our time”.

The award – presented to a living writer – is worth eight million kronor (£691,000).

The academy said the award was “for the art of memory with which he has evoked the most ungraspable human destinies and uncovered the life-world of the occupation”.


Photo Credits:

Read More:

[fbcomments data-width="100%"]