ousted presidents- Classic 105

Mugabe to Yahya Jammeh, A list of Presidents who were dictators

President Robert Mugabe was loved and hated in equal measures but what many do not know is that he was not the only President to be ousted.

Below is a list of other presidents who were thrown put of power with one having been in power for more than 40 years.

  1. Robert Mugabe

Robert Mugabe had been the longest  Zimbabwean President having ruled since 1987- 2017 (30 years).

On 19 November,2017  ZANU-PF removed Mugabe as party leader, replacing him with Mnangagwa, and issued a deadline of 20 November for Mugabe to resign the presidency or face impeachment.

Mugabe did not resign, so on 21 November a joint session of Parliament met for his impeachment.

Robert Mugabe was ousted by a “military coup” that forced his resignation.

‘God has done his will,’ Robert Mugabe Kids mourn

Grace Mugabe

2.President Omar al Bashir ,Sudan

Bashir took over power in 1989 through a military coup. His three-decade rule however culminated in months of deadly protests, with Al-Jazeera citing rising costs of living as part of what fueled the uprising.

Al Bashir- Mpasho

3. Blaise Compaore, Burkina Faso

In 2014, violent protests saw demanding an end to President Blaise Compaore’s 27-year-rule forced him out of power.

Compaore had been in office since he took power after a bloody coup in 1987.

Demonstrators stormed Parliament, setting fire to the building, according to a CNN report.

He had been president for 27 years.


3. Abdoulaye Wade, Senegal

In 2012 Senegal youths were shouting “Wade step down”.

The clashes came amid mounting international pressure on the then 85-year-old President Abdoulaye Wade  plans to seek a third term, Reuters reported.

Ex president Wade

Lessons from Robert Mugabe’s life in prison, power and dictatorship

On March 25, 2012, Macky Sall claimed victory after a hotly contended presidential election over Wade, who quickly conceded defeat.

He had been President for two years.

4. Muammar Mohammed Abu Minyar Gaddafi

Muammar Gaddafi became the de facto leader of Libya on 1 September 1969 after leading a group of young Libyan military officers against King Idris I in a bloodless coup d’état.

The government was overthrown, and Gaddafi retreated to Sirte, only to be captured and killed by NTC militants.

He was killed in October 2011. He had been President for almost 42 years.


5. Mamadou Tandja, Niger

On February 18,2010 President Mamadou Tandja was  overthrown in a military coup after changing the Constitution in order to remain in power beyond two terms.

He had been in power for 11 years.

Mamadou Tandja-Mpasho
Mamadou Tandja,

6. Yahya Jammeh, Gambia

Yahya Jammeh, who came to power in a coup in 1994, left the country on January 21,2017 handing power to Adama Barrow.

He had been in power for 21 years.

7. Mohamed Morsi, Egypt

On July 3 ,2013 the military ousted Egypt’s first democratically elected leader, the Islamist Mohamed Morsi, after large demonstrations against his one-year rule.

He died in a courtroom aged 67 in June 2019.

8. Raimundo Pereira, Guinea Bissau

A coup took place on April 12, 2012 between two rounds of a presidential poll with troops ousting President Raimundo Pereira and the former prime minister.


Read more

Photo Credits:

Read More:

[fbcomments data-width="100%"]