Govt - 2,000 schools will not reopen today

This follows an assessment done by relevant authorities on the preparedness of schools, following the heavy rains.

Image: The-Star

Deputy Government spokesperson Mwanaisha Chidzuga has revealed that around 2,000 schools will not be able to reopen on Monday, May 13.

During an interview on Radio Citizen, Chidzuga explained that this decision comes after a thorough assessment conducted by relevant authorities to gauge the readiness of schools following the heavy rains.

She emphasized that despite this setback, the government has implemented measures to ensure that students from the affected schools can still access education.

Chidzuga further outlined one of the government's actions, which involves relocating affected students to nearby schools.

"In preparation for the school reopening, we had established certain protocols. For instance, we engaged the Public Works department, responsible for assessing building safety. They inspected several schools to determine if they were suitable for students. Based on their findings, as of now, 2,000 schools cannot resume operations," she explained.

"However, this doesn't mean that these students will miss out on their studies. We have arranged for some students to attend neighboring schools. Additionally, in certain cases, we've set up temporary classrooms using tents and desks."

Chidzuga stressed that despite floods affecting over 30 counties, the government cannot further delay the start of the second term.

She highlighted that many regions in the country are minimally impacted, allowing for continued learning.

The deputy government spokesperson assured that the government is committed to safeguarding citizens and facilitating the resumption of school activities.

She appealed for understanding and cooperation from all Kenyans during this challenging period.

Last week, President William Ruto announced the reopening of schools for Monday.

This decision came after the initial postponement due to the flooding crisis.

Education CS Ezekiel Machogu had earlier stated that certain schools in Tana River, Homa Bay, and Kisumu counties would remain closed, as they are still grappling with flood-related issues that require extensive repairs before classes can resume.