bafana death

Bafana pooled in Afcon ‘Group of Death’

Bafana Bafana were drawn against African football heavyweights Ghana, Senegal and Algeria in Group C of the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

The draw was conducted in Malabo, the capital city of host nation Equatorial Guinea, on Wednesday night.

The sixteen teams that will fight it out for continental glory learnt their fate ahead of the tournament set to take place from 17 January to 8 February.

Shakes Mashaba’s charges qualified for the 2015 tournament by finishing unbeaten and top of Group A, which included defending champions Nigeria who failed to make the qualification grade. South Africa have one Afcon title, which they won on home soil in 1996.

Algeria finished top of Group B in the qualifiers having amassed 15 points, which was the highest total in all the seven groups. The Desert Foxes, like Bafana, have one continental title to their name which they won in 1990.

Ghana had a shaky start in the qualifiers but rallied to finish top of Group E with 11 points. The Black Stars have qualified for the tournament 19 times in total, finishing as runners-up four times, third once, and fourth three times.

Senegal finished second in Group E but boast the best defensive record in the qualifiers as they conceded just one goal in six matches.


Group A – Equtorial Guinea, Congo, Gabon, Burkina Faso

Group B – Zambia, DR Congo, Cape Verde, Tunisia

Group C – Ghana, Senegal, South Africa, Algeria

Group D – Ivory Coast, Mali, Cameroon, Guinea

Photo Credits:

Read More:

[fbcomments data-width="100%"]